Quick Links

Quick Links

Our Governors

Mission Statement

Growing and Learning in Faith

Our Mission is to develop the whole person in a Catholic learning community, to provide a loving Christian environment and to strive for excellence, equality, justice and fairness.

At St Bernadette Catholic Secondary School we aim for our young people to be:

  • strong and committed in the faith of Christ
  • confident of their personal worth
  • active in response to Christ’s call to care for others
  • responsible members of society

Hence we strive to:

  • achieve excellence in all aspects of our life and work
  • foster the spiritual growth of each member of our community
  • create a happy and successful learning environment
  • develop the full potential of each individual
  • prepare pupils for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of adult life
  • work in partnership with home, parish and the wider community

Governors at St Bernadette Catholic Secondary School

Governor Governor Type Start Date End Date Pecuniary Interest Appointed by
Mr Stanislaw Biber Foundation 12/09/2020 11/09/2024 None Clifton Diocese
Mr Alex Emenike Foundation 10/12/2020 09/12/2024 None Clifton Diocese
Mr Patrick McDermott Foundation 25/03/2022 24/03/2026 None Clifton Diocese
Miss Veronica Morgan Foundation 01/09/2021 31/08/2025 None Clifton Diocese
Mrs Joanne Mullins Co-opted 01/12/2019 30/11/2023 None Existing Governing Body
Mrs Catherine Nicholls Foundation 01/08/2021 31/07/2025 None Clifton Diocese
Ms Steph Ryan Staff 10/03/2022 09/03/2026 None Staff Body
Alderman Mary Sykes Local Authority 09/07/2019 08/07/2023 None Recommendation of the LA
Ms Claire Valsler Foundation 15/03/2023 14/03/2027 None Clifton Diocese
Mr Edward Walker Headteacher 01/09/2021 - None Ex-officio

Please click here to view any Declarations of Interests which our Governors hold.

The following Governors have served in the past 12 months:

Ms Helen Burger Parent 01/04/2021 26/05/2023 Parent Body

Governing Body Structure

Chair of Govenors: Mr P McDermott

Vice-Chair of Governors: Mr S Biber

Clerk to Governors: Miss S Lindley

Admissions Committee

(Meets as necessary)

Mrs J Mullins (Chair)
Mr P McDermott
Miss V Morgan
Mrs C Nicholls
Mrs Kelly Scott (Policy meetings only)

Finance & Premises Committee

(Meets six times per year)

Miss V Morgan (Chair)
Mr A Emenike
Mr P McDermott
Mrs C Nicholls
Alderman M Sykes
Mr E Walker

School Convener: Mrs N Fear

Learning & Standards Committee

(Meets six times per year)

Ms C Valsler (Chair)
Mr S Biber
Mr P McDermott
Ms S Ryan
Mr E Walker
Mission & Pastoral Committee

(Meets six times per year)

Mr S Biber (Chair)
Mrs J Mullins
Ms S Ryan
Ms C Valsler
Mr E Walker

Personnel Committee

(Meets six times per year)

Mrs C Nicholls (Chair)
Mr P McDermott
Miss V Morgan
Mrs J Mullins
Alderman M Sykes
Mr E Walker
School Convener: Mrs N Fear

The Pupil and Staff Disciplinary Committee meets as neccessary and the membership is decided on a per meeting basis.

Governors with Special Responsibilities

Association of Bristol Governors Representative Ms C Valsler
Safeguarding, Child Protection and Children in Care Mrs J Mullins
Governors' Induction Mr P McDermott
Careers Education and Guidance
Health and Safety Miss V Morgan and Mrs C Nicholls
Governor Training Clerk to Governors
Numeracy and Literacy Mr P McDermott
Online Safety Mrs J Mullins
Religious Education, Worship and Chaplaincy Mr S Biber
Safer Recruitment

Attendance and Minutes of Meetings

Please find below the minutes of the Full Governing Body Meetings held in the 2020/2021 Academic Year, and the record of attendance for all governors. 

Older minutes and attendance reports are available on request.